My nose won't stop running.. and thats bad. But one good thing that has come out of this extended indoor stint is that I've kicked my Microsoft habit (again).
So I went from eLive, thinking that was the best thing since sliced bread, to Windows 7, and there I stayed for quite a while.... I even bought it! (Courtesy of my girlfriends student discount)
But now gentle people... I'm back! And I don't mean in a small way, I mean in a big way.. I'm seriously loving the Linux right now..
Yeah I know, I do this.. I go through phases.. but this time I'm convinced its different. Why? Because for the first time ever, there is nothing that my Linux OS can't do... Before it would typically be things like Skype not working smoothly enough.. Now Skype is essential, and it's got to work so I can vidcon with my gorgeous girlfriend.. so its a dealbreaker if my OS can't run Skype properly.. Thankfully... it now does..
Which distro I hear you ask... Well.. I almost cringe when I admit this, but against all odds, I seem to find myself running Fedora... Even after a nasty encounter with the Nvidia driver and nouveau a few weeks ago.. But I came back, I persevered, and now... everything is perfect...
FINALLY! OS Heaven...
Took me a while, I grant you.. but I got there in the end, and after recompiling freetype2 with the ByteCode Interpreter enabled for the Microsoft Font hinting, but it was worth it... Now my fonts are crisp and I've got rid of that god-awful 'big, bubbly Linux' look..
And so BEHOLD gentle people! This... is the face of the future!..and I kid you not.. this is my new, sparkly desktop.. :-)
Wednesday, March 31, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)



0 comments:
Post a Comment